QUESTION: Linking Cycles Nodes With Python?

Hello,

I’m still new to python, although I have made many running scripts for personal use.

I’m trying to make an addon that will add an object with a material and texture in Cycles. I’ve kept my eye on the “History”
when adding nodes in Cycles, but they appear to have no useful information about what the code is to attach/link the nodes together.

If you would please let me know what the appropriate line of code is, it would be very much appreciated.

Also, unrelated to nodes, if someone knows the code(s) to adding a random value to set a procedural texture size or type (Cell, Voronoi, New Perlin), that would be awesome as well!

I look forward to hearing from you, and thank you for responding!

-Blake

This script creates a cube with a random type texture defined in a dictionary and assigns a random scale within an arbitrary range.
The important thing to know for creating nodes its their type/bl_idname (e.g. “ShaderNodeDiffuse”). Before 2.67 the nomenclature was changed, so this works only for 2.67 and above.
A list of the changes is here: http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Extensions:2.6/Py/API_Changes

To find out what bl_idname certain node is, in the console:

bpy.data.materials[“your_material_name_or_index”].node_tree.nodes[“your_node_name_or_index”].bl_idname

>>> bpy.data.materials[0].node_tree.nodes[0].bl_idname
'ShaderNodeOutputMaterial'

import random
import bpy

#Create a new material for cycles Engine.
bpy.context.scene.render.engine = 'CYCLES'
material = bpy.data.materials.new("material")
material.use_nodes= True
#Removing the default created nodes (diffuse-->output)
material.node_tree.nodes.clear()

#mapping nodes types for random access.
texture_type = { 0 : 'ShaderNodeTexVoronoi', 
                 1 : 'ShaderNodeTexMagic', 
                 2 : 'ShaderNodeTexMusgrave'
                    }

#create a random texture