Questions about snapping, grid, and grid increments.

I’m new to Bender but I’m getting a good grasp on it. One thing that continues to escape me is snapping and the grid and grid increments

When I’m working with say… vertices, and I want to grab and have it snap to the lines of the grid; I thought that using CTRL (if it’s not already locked to snapping) and having grid increments selected would cause it to snap to the grid as I move it. But it seems to snap to distances that are equal in length but not on the grid.

Is there a difference between “grid increments” and the visual grid you see behind the thing you are moving? They seem out of sync to me so I’m assuming there is a reason for it.

I’ve noticed the snap to grid from the menu does move it to an intersecting point on the grid but it’s not convenient if I’m shifted several items.

I am not certain, but it may have to do with the level of zoom you are using. For instance at low zooms you may only see the larger grid divisions. As you zoom in closer and closer, you begin to see even more divisions. The snap function seems to work ok but I have noticed it seem to be dependant on what you can see of your grid. In other words, if you are zoomed in quite a bit, don’t expect a snap to go to a major division line of the grid, it will only go to the next division. Hope that this makes some kind of sense.

With 2.57, procedure seems to be to select item, hot key G, enter axis, and if you drag with Ctrl key pressed, the item snaps to grid as you drag.

I’ve tried various zoom levels and G with CTRL but they both have the same result. The item does move at incremental amounts from its starting point but doesn’t snap to the visible grid.

on my PC, (Linux), at some point before I can see the grid divide its grid lines into the next smaller tenths [Ctrl] starts to snap to tenths of the visible grid.
[Shift] snaps to hundreds of the grid, I believe.