Questions from a newbie

Hello I’ve attached my first attempt at modeling a tractor (semi-truck).
I am very new to Blender and as I’m sure you will quickly see new to 3D modeling of any kind.
I want to eventually import the vehicle into CryEngine using CryBlend.
The vehicle is far from finished but I’ve run into questions that will affect what I do now and how it will impact what I want to do latter with the model.

My concerns are:

Using the least amount of Verts so as to not tax CryEngine more than I must.
Using the UV Mapping (Materials?) to create most of the details.
Doing things now that will help, assist, make possible things I wish to do in the CryEngine Environment

My questions are:

Clean Up techniquesIf you will kindly look at the frame of the vehicle towards the back near the rear wheels up to the fuel tanks. I have gone through and removed every “edge” I possibly could without collapsing the structure shape. Is this something that is advised? Should I do this or should I not remove the edges I feel do not support the structure? The CAB area has not been cleaned up and has many extra edges that could be removed. I’m looking for a general overall handling of what I should be doing.

DetailI’ve noticed that Blender is capable of very very high levels of detail but that detail comes with a price tag of more Verts. Looking to place the model into CryEngine I am seeking to limit my detail when it comes to the framework and fill in much of the detail with the UV Map (Materials?). I’m not sure how the community refers to the overlay of an image matched to the vehicle… UV Map / Materials / Textures? Have I done anything that would hurt my ability to unwrap this model? What should I have done to ease my access to the UV Map?