Questions of being a 3d artist

I’ve been using Blender for almost 2 years now and I’m really enjoying modelling.

So I’d like to be a 3d artist in the game industry, and therefore I have a few questions;

Does a 3d artist need to know how to program? I have a basic knowledge of C++, which I’m currently learning.

Do game studios use Blender as a modelling software? Most of the time I see people using 3ds Max.

What programs should I master to have the best chance of getting employed?

^ I’m pretty sure most of these questions vary depending on how large the company is. :slight_smile:

Does a 3d artist need to know how to program? I have a basic knowledge of C++, which I’m currently learning.

No, we are a small studio, 9 employees… 3 know how to code… most of the stuff we do is python based due to the API blender has

Do game studios use Blender as a modelling software? Most of the time I see people using 3ds Max.

Some do, majority use 3dsmax

What programs should I master to have the best chance of getting employed?

learn more concepts rather than programs… these concepts are usually transferable between programs… but if i were to say programs it would be 3dsmax and maya… just target who you want to work for, find out what they use and learn that.

during a ~7 month internship at a now former EA studio -it is now a Ubisoft studio,
I had the chance to ask the Art director, if it would be OK
if someone used Blender in their studio, his answer was;

“you can model and texture in whatever program you want as long as it is good to animate and
is transferable into the programs we use to animate, for animation you have to use our pipeline tools.”

3ds max is in decline- updates are stalling, keep in mind we are talking about Autodesk which likes to EOL their tools just look at XSI <- industry tool and with a snip of their fingers it was dead.

At the current time if you want from autodesk a future secure tool, Maya would be it.