Quick Question - extra files saving

Whenever I save a .blend file, it also saves a .blend1 file (I remember I once accidentally placed the 1 at the end of blend, but that was a long time ago). How do I make it so that it only saves the .blend?

There will be a time when you do something extremely stupid in your .blend file and save accidentally or Blender has a hiccup and your .blend file gets corrupted beyond repair. That will be the time when you pray to have a .blend1, .blend2… file somewhere. You want those extra files.

Oops! I guess that is a smart feature.