Quit without save

Is there a way for Blender to prompt to save before exiting? I have accidentally lost work because I just closed without saving.

just reopen the .quit file in the tmp directory and save it as your named file. most of us get our file so screwed up it’s unreal, so we quit in disgust and do NOT want to be reminded that we just wasted our last half hour.

Also, you can turn on autosave for every 5 minutes, and the .blendx file will be there for you to reopen and save as the .blend. See wiki User Preferences and Info window.