Random Actuator -- Hello!! and HELP ME!!

Hello, i am new to the forums and i would like to say hello to everybody in this nice community, but i need help.
I am developing in the BGE and i know a few things but i know i am a rookie.
The thing is that i want to make random enemies spawn at random spawn points… my only problem is that i cannot control the Random Actuator, my plan was to give it a different seed everytime with python to get always different experiences even playing the same level. But the Random Actuator seems to ignore what i tell it to do. I have tried this:

#— Contr is the current controller, and RandomGen1 and 2 are the 2 random actuators.

contr.actuators['RandomGen1'].seed = contr.owner['SpawnSeedGen']
contr.actuators['RandomGen2'].seed = contr.owner['EnemySelSeed']
contr.actuators['RandomGen2'].setIntUniform(1, int(GV['Level_To_Load']))

And it does not work, the actuators keep their hand written values. No msgs on the console, no deprecated warnings, NOTHING!!

By the way i am activating the actuators directly by python scripting.

#-- Example
contr.activate(contr.actuators[‘RandomGen1’])

This seems fairly simple and the random numbers are generated but the actuators ignore all the parameters i passed them, however i know the script is working because the only thing triggering those actuators is that same script.

I don’t know what is wrong… HELP :frowning:

I’d go an entirely different route…

The random actuators don’t actually generate random numbers. They’ll generate the same numbers each time you run the game. The 5th number generated by the random actuator on one playthrough will be the exact same number as the 5th number generated on the second playthrough.

Use python’s random module instead. Simply input it (input random) and you’re set. Now you can use random.randint(lownum, highnum) for ints, random.uniform(lownum,highnum) for random floats, etc.

-Sam