Rating and nudity

Hello,

I will launch an independed website and sell my game from there. Is it necessary to certify
the game for rating ? There are warriors fighting and killing each other, but they are cartoon-like
and there is no blood or otherwise gore.

Another thing is that I have female warriors that are topless, like amazon style or Medusa monster.
Does this count as nudity ? I can easily texture a bra on them, but I would prefer not to.

What I mean is, can I get into trouble from such things ?
Thanks in advance!

Dimitris
Greece

I’m not an expert but I am pretty sure boobs are ok as long as nipples aren’t visible.
You can also make a warning at the start of the game that it contains nudity and then everything should be fine.

From what I understand (though keep in mind I could be wrong), any indie game that’s distributed exclusively online doesn’t have to apply for a rating.

Looking through itch.io, I don’t see a single game sporting an official ESRB rating. Though it might be a good idea to put up a warning on the store page, just in case.