re-creating landscapes (pre vs post civil works)

Hi, I’m brand new to blender but I think it is the right tool for what I want to do. I want to be able to generate a landscape showing before and after certain proposed civil works projects (say a new road, or a new dam). Nothing pressing at the moment - just building up skills. Say for a proposed (not built) new dam development, the information I would have would be:

• topography of whole area as a mesh surface
  • aerial photograph (looking vertically down)
  • perhaps an oblique site photo or two (taken from hill or other vantage point)
  • mesh design of the dam (from sketchup or autocad)
  • the new water level and where this would intersect the topography
  • details of any areas that would be affected by landscape changes such as vegetation replanting, etc.

I would want to generate a series of still images from various vantage points showing the likely change in the landscape as realistically as possible, but all generated within a virtual scene (not photoshop collage, etc.). Possibly even a fly-through? Typical existing ground cover would be mixture of rural grazing land, sparse and dense forest with maybe one or two distant buildings (say a farmhouse). [edit: I’ve attached a couple of pictures put together just in sketchup using the terrain, aerial photo and mesh model… obviously trying to improve on this a lot by using blender].

I was wondering if anyone could point to some good tutorials on how I would go about integrating this sort of information. Or failing that, even some dot points on how you would go about it?

Thanks heaps

• Mick -

[ATTACH=CONFIG]209263[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]209264[/ATTACH]

Here’s some pics to help explain. An example of aerial photograph on topography and with a hypothetical dam and impoundment in the river valley - just put together in sketchup. I want to be able to provide semi-realistic images. Probably would need the trees in 3D (for closer up images).