Real light in Blender?

Hi, I know my way around Blender but I’m still a novice. How would I go about having real light in blender rather than faked specularity? By that I mean having a mesh with a little reflectivity to accurately depict light rather than rely on faking it.

I’ve been fiddling around with luxrender. I’ve attached two pictures of a simple setup, one with Lux, one with Blender. With lux, the light source is shown. Blender, a dull scene. Both have reflective surfaces.

So I guess my question is: How do I get blender internal to render the light source so I don’t have to rely on specularity? Does it even support it? Do I have to rely on Luxrender for real light?

Lux: http://www.box.net/shared/o0v1taxgrkxn35914k6m
Blender: http://www.box.net/shared/1ems20n2dhbi20ov2r56

Oops, I thought I had posted in the Lighting section. Could a Mod please move my thread? Sorry for the trouble.

As Blender Internal is a pass-based non-physical renderer, specular is the best you’re going to be able to do. Highlights are calculated in their own pass. Lux, on the other hand, is an unbiased, physically-based renderer which uses real world material properties to create an image. That having been said, I’m confused about what you’re asking because your pictures didn’t seem to attach correctly. Most reflection surfaces can be very accurately faked using Blender, so with the right info, we might be able to help you.

I uploaded them. Sorry, forgot to.

So what I get from this is that Blender does not try to do it all - It provides the functionality that would best serve the majority of users and lets those that want real-world lighting to use Lux/Yafaray?

Thanks for the help.

It’s more that Blender Internal is optimized for animation, where real-world calculations are not feasible with time restraints, while lux is better suited for stills with production quality, like interiors, or product renders.