Real time motion capture

Hi ppl,

I am a research student at a university with access to motion capture equipment. I am just starting a project, and I am wondering whether blender can be a suitable engine for me. I want to control a 3d model, in real time using the mocap sensors, in a virtual environment where it will be interacting with the world. I hope I am clear on my intentions… if anyone wants me to clarify please let me know!

So my questions basically are : Is there a way for blender to handle real time motion capture? Is there a way to use the date from real time import to control a 3d model while being in the blender engine?

thanx!

Basically, yes. GameBlender is able to use data from motion capture system. You just need Python module that will provide access to these data. I don’t know your motion capture equipment, so I can’t tell, how hard it’ll be to create (or get) this Python module.

GameBlender has one major disadvantage - it’s not able to control armatures using realtime data.

I am using a Vicon motion capture system. There is no way that Game blender will control models with real time data?

Hi. we are starting similar project with NaturPoint OptiTracker, but we are just starting. We can change expierences.

I work with real-time animation and Blender and Ashsid is right, there is no way currently to directly control armatures using motion capture. The work-around I use is to use input devices (joysticks, mocap devices, etc.) to trigger pre-programmed movements. For example, you can have an action in the GE called “Head Turn Right” that is triggered when someone turns their head right, but all it is doing is triggering the action.

BTW, GlovePIE is a handy scripting tool for getting a variety of different input devices to talk with Blender - no Python required (I’m not sure if it supports Vicon or not).

Thanx everyone for your replies.