Realtime 3D portfolio

Hi,

I’m a multimedia computing student and have made a 3D portfolio hosting site as a project. It uses Actionscript, Javascript, PHP & mySQL and I would very much appreciate some feedback from yourselves. Its purpose is to be able to upload your models and share a link with others, allowing them to view your collection in realtime via their browsers flash plugin.

An example would be: http://www.p09250687.netii.net/view.php?id=tester

The project has only been tested with the most recent Firefox & Flash plugin in Windows - It is Alpha and more a proof of concept. If it works for you, you may use it in whatever way you like. Please read the user guide and give it a go.

Here’s a link to the main login/register page: http://p09250687.netii.net/

Feel free to post your shared links here and comment in whatever way you wish.

Thank you & I hope it can of some use.

PS. A known issue is that you will have to view a preview such as the one above before you can preview your own work via the 3d preview menu - this will not be a problem for anyone viewing your work via the shared link.

Bump.
No users yet & could use some feedback - even if it’s only on my example.
Thank you.

Hello, hello.

It seems to be working fine here. Maybe zoom is a little slow, and when I try to rotate moving the mouse vertically, there is some zooming in, then out again. Don’t know if this is intentional, but it gives a kind of uneasy, floaty feeling; a bit like sea sickness? :slight_smile:
There is also some confusion between zoom and scroll. When I zoom the page also scrolls.

Otherwise it seems good.

Is the lighting configurable? Can users set the lighting for specific models or scenes?

Ubuntu 11.04
Firefox 11.0
nvidia 8800GS

Thanks for your reply.

I assume that your gfx may not be fully utilised in Linux. Does it say ‘software’ in the stats window? That’d go some way to explaining slow zooming at least.

Btw, did you used to play Nexuiz?

It does say software.