Recommendation for beginner sculpting?

Hello, I’m still new to sculpting but have been testing blender’s sculpt tools and I was wondering what I should start with to sculpt.
For example, should I start with just a poly sphere and sculpt from there or should I model a base mesh first to sculpt onto?
I also heard that there was a method where you start with a cube and subdivide it twice to get a spherical mesh.

Workflow will be different in dyntopo than it is using multiresolution. I only have experience in dyntopo.

Workflow is, of course, something you develop with experience. Check this post in Blender Tests: https://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?264568-Dyntopo-tests for various ideas. One of the artists starts with a simple set of lines to create a character pose – a stick figure – and then applies a skin modifer to create a base for sculpting. Very interesting.

Regarding subdivided cube thing vs. icosphere, it is a matter of taste/preference. Start with a cube, use a subsurf modifier at level 2 (ctrl-2), apply, smooth, and then on to sculpt mode.

I’ve just started learning to sculpt and I recently tried starting from this object and pulling it into a shape (https://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?438951-Glen-Larsen-Sketchbook&p=3288507&viewfull=1#post3288507). I’m still working my way to full-character sculpts.

Start with a Tablet :slight_smile:

no but really tho it completely depends on the tools you have, and preference. in Zbrush i just add spheres and morph them to an aproximate shape.