Remove wrinkles & creases from posed figures

Hello, I’m doing a little animation with a simple caricature - pretty basic stuff, but I’m just a novice with 3D animation. A former co-worker of mine once did a simpler version of this animation in Maya. However, when I tried to re-create the main character in Blender, I couldn’t give it that smooth, gelatinous look. Instead, every time it was posed away from its T-shape, there are all these wrinkles and creases.

So, does anybody know of techniques I could use to make posed meshes look as wrinkle-free and smooth as the one in the picture on the left?

Thanks as always.

you have to post a wire-picture of the mesh and setup of the armature
or, if it is small the whole (compressed - check at blender-save-options) blend-file.

Such wrinkles are sometimes wanted, … if the character wears clothes …and not a tight “swim-suit”.

What does the topology of your model look like ie the the edge flow, could be a weight paint issue hard to say without relevant pics or a blend to check out

I see test-dr resopnded as I was writing this so excuse the double up.

I think you have the armature after the subsurf. try putting your armature modifier in the modifiers panel before the subdivision surface.
also the less edge loops you have the smoother it will be.
another note is that a less specular mesh doesn’t show up so many artifacts.

If all else fails you may need some more work on your weight painting :smiley:

2 Likes

A couple of quick responses:

1. The armature is listed before the subsurf, so that isn’t the issue. (I actually just went and reversed them to see what that looked like, and I couldn’t really see any difference.)

2. The model is not weight-painted. It’s just a monochromatic blue. So that can’t be the issue.

3. I’m sure that some people do want wrinkles and creases. But obviously, they’re unwanted right here.