renaming bones without destroying constraints/posedata?

hello all, got a simple question
I’m trying to rename the bones on octopus tentacles- I don’t like the .001 blah names, and redoing 25 bones 7 times by hand is a pain.
when you rename bones in edit mode in blender, constraints are preserved just as you would want them to.
when you rename bones in python using getName() and setName() it removes all posedata (OK in this case) and constraints (not ok) on those bones
Any “quick” method around this? is the solution to grab the bones current constraint information, cache it and redo it with new names? note this could get complicated for nested constraints in batch renaming.

aah, on re-examination it doesn’t look like there is even a “slow” way around it- I don’t see python access to constraint data anywhere.
oh well.

Hi,
It is not that I want to nag around but, I have been using Blender for a few years now
and if there is something that realy s@#%s with blender is
the access of internal data with python.
Although python is an excelent choice, the way that python data classes are implemented is way to closed.
It is actualy a pain in the ass to find the correct UV and to modify those for instance
well , it is just my opinion
c ya

slikdigit: That’s a problem in the API. It should call the checkup function to relink constraints automaticly when renaming bones. Or at least give access to the function.

rompelstilc: It’s easy to complain, it’s harder to give a better solution. If you get what I mean…

Martin

rompelstilc: It’s easy to complain, it’s harder to give a better solution. If you get what I mean…

I am not going to rewrite the whole Blender thing, ok.
And my post was also another way to see if anyone already had the same issue. I am not here to spit but to get help on the topic.
If I ‘complain’ today about this , it is precisely because I have been using blender for ages and this has still not been improved.

sorry,
next time I won’t say anything. :-?