Render Farm for Starters

Hi everyone!

I am quite new to blender, but I am already shocked by the long render times… Because I had some unused PC’s lying around the house, I thought: why not build a render farm? Rendering with my laptop wouldn’t be that much of a problem if it wouldn’t heat up so much. My available systems are:

Laptop (nót in the farm):

• i5-3317u 1.7 ghz
  • 4 Gb ram
  • GT 740M

Desktop:

• Pentium 4 3 Ghz
  • 1.25 Gb ram
  • Geforce MX 440 64 Mb

Desktop

• Athlon XP 2000+ (1.8 Ghz)
  • 786 Mb ram
  • Riva TNT 2 32 Mb

Laptop:

• Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8 Ghz
  • 3 Gb ram
  • Integrated x3100 graphics

Desktop:

• Pentium D 280 2.8 Ghz
  • 1 Gb ram
  • 8800 Gt

My question is: how to do it? I tried installing Rocks (for a Beowulf cluster), but my PC’s are not compatible with that program… I have thought about a few options:

1. Blenders integrated Network Renderer: the problem is that with this program I can’t use LuxEngine or Cyles…
  2. A Beowulf Cluster: I have got the required parts, but I tried installing Rocks and that failed quite a bit. I wouldn’t know any other operating systems for that.
  3. An actual Render Farm: also no idea how :stuck_out_tongue:

I hope someone can help me!
Thanx in advance

Sincerely,
TheMcSquirrell

I wold use the network render. You can select Cycles in the network render settings if you wish, and IIRC LuxRender works as well. You have to have the internal LuxRender (pylux) mode installed, if you have Lux material previews, than you should be fine (ill double check when I get home)

In the laptop with 3GB, start Blender in the master mode network render. Then launch another instance of Blender, using the slave network service, but set it to 1 thread.

Launch Blender on the remaining 3 desktops (be mindful of RAM, you may not have enough, especially the 768MB PC) and start them as slaves.