Render HUGE image for printing?

Hello!

I’m a musician, for the fun I started to do the CD covers, the back, and even the cd booklet. The CD covers has a pixel size of 4096*4096, I think it’s gonna be an excellent quality for printing.

But now I have the idea of making a tarpauling advertising, I thought about this last night when I was thinking about mates and their bands (they have a tarpauling ad).

I checked on a site, and it’s not expensive! for 50€ I can print a tarpauling ad of 32 meters.
The site says the file (I’ll use jpeg by facilities because they accept jpeg) needs to have a pixel size of 24315
16441 pixel.

That’s HUUUUUUUGE! And Blender don’t want to render this, so how can I tell blender to split the image (like a puzzle)?
I hope I could redo the image with Gimp…
That’s the id. EG 9 parts…

With Gimp, I’ll also change the DPI value, the value is always set to 72 but I’ll change to 150 DPI for best printing.

Tell me if I’m doing it the wrong way, or if there’s other way with good result… (Like renduce the image to render by 25% and resize it by 5 with gimp…)

Thanks for your help :slight_smile:

Does this help?

Try this
https://b3d.interplanety.org/en/partitionrender-add-on/

The best advice is to contact a printer and discuss with them the minimum resolution for a given viewing distance. Billboards, for example, are meant to viewed at a distance of say, 10m, allowing a print resolution as low as 20dpi.
If this is to hang behind a band, the audience is not going to get up close to it. Even at 50dpi(~20px per cm), that’s an image around 6000 x 4000px.

Print a sample area at different resolutions for comparison.

Keep in mind that 1920 x 1080 is still considered a suitable resolution for cinema projection. 3m x 2m is smaller than a cinema screen.

Thanks guys, I’ll test the other add on that Korchy talks about, it seems more clear.
The first one works fine but is not easy to use…