render layer, passes, composition?

Hey. Sorry if i’m asking a stupid question, but i’ve googled it, and i’ve searched the forum for about 1 hour or so, but my problem is, i’m not quite sure what what i’m looking for is called. My “problem”
I’m trying to render a large scene (blend file = 25 mb) i have put different objects, lights etc on different layers, just to be able to work on it. When trying to render, blender chrashes after occlusion counting up to about 500 000. I have about 1gb of ram, and a really crappy graphics card. So i was wondering, and i have treid it a bit, but i’m not very good at it. Say i have 6 layers, what would the node setup look like to make it into a picture. If nodes are the best way that is. Is there any other way of rendering this huge scene withouth cutting down on details and quality of the image. I’m going to render the scene for the cgtalk event challenge, and the deadline is on sunday, and it worked fine untill yesterday when my scene got too big. Any help/advice/tutorial/blend file?

Any help is highly appreciated. If you don’t want to tell me, just give me a tutorial, anything, I want to learn this too, would be really useful as my cpu and graphic card quality is fairly limited.

-thondal-

Can you provide more details of your scene:
What are your render settings?
How many faces do you have in the whole scene (the number near “Fa:” at the top)?
How many lamps, their settings?
Materials with Ray transparency or Ray Mirror?