Render layer vs. image node - not the same result

Hello everyone,
I am new to compositing in Blender.
I have prepared a simple pipeline for Glare adjustment in compositor. I am working with an image sequence, so I rendered one frame to try some set up. After the render I plugged it straight from the render layer node, and the result was fine.

When I tried to repeat it with complete rendered sequence (.jpg) from Image node, the Glare was barely visible. As a new user I cannot append screenshots for a refference, so I hope this explanation will do.

Is it that the freshly rendered image has more data then saved .png or .jpg although there was just a Combine pass?

Thank you very much
A.

Do you have the Compositor checkbox turned on in render settings?

Yeah I got the checkbox Compositing under Post processing and Output propperties active. Didn’t find any Compositor node under Render setings.

Yes, the fresh render does in fact have more data stored than a png.

The difference is what’s called the dynamic range. A png file has a maximum brightness it can store. If you go in the image output settings, you will see a setting called “color depth”. The png format has a choice between 8 bits per channel and 16 bits. The 8 bit option is a standard image file, like you would see on the Internet, but the 16 bit option has a better brightness range, which means a black to white gradient would be more detailed and would better support color correction.

However, if you save the image in the openexr format, you will get the “full float” option (32 bits per channel). This can store any level of brightness no matter how bright and can contain the raw output of the render un-altered. However, the file is heavier and image editing apps like Photoshop won’t be able to fully display the brightness. Then, If you load that kind of file in the compositor, it will be the same as the render layer node.