Render suddenly slows down?

Hello! I am new to Blender. I am using Blender 2.82. All of a sudden rendering became really slow. I am only rendering a couple of small spheres using Cycles with the following settings, which as far as I’ve searched for should speed up the process:
*Cycles Max Bounces set to 12.
*Render tiles to 8
*Number of samples set to 16
*Caustics reflective and caustics refractive both disabled
I’m rendering using my CPU, as I don’t have a GPU. Since the images were quite simple, this morning it took about 5-6 seconds (only two really small white, untextured, spheres) to render each image. I wanted to continue this afternoon, when I ran the script, it took around 2 minutes or more to produce each image, I am quite positive I haven’t changed anything. I am using this python script:

# Render all cameras or cameras containing text given with command line argument "cameras".
# Example:
# Let's say test.blend file contains cameras "east.01", "east.02", "west.01", "west.02"
# By executing command "blender -b your_file.blend -P render_all_cameras.py" all 4 cameras will be rendered.
# Command "blender -b your_file.blend -P render_all_cameras.py  cameras=east" will render "east.01" and "east.02" cameras.
# Command "blender -b your_file.blend -P render_all_cameras.py  cameras=01" will render "east.01" and "west.01.02" cameras.

import bpy, bgl, blf,sys
from bpy import data, ops, props, types, context
print("\nThis Python script will render your scene with all available cameras")
print("or with camera(s) matching command line argument 'cameras'")
print("")
print("Usage:")
print("Render all cameras:")
print("blender -b your_file.blend -P render_all_cameras.py\n")
print("Render only matching cameras:")
print("blender -b your_file.blend -P render_all_cameras.py  cameras=east\n")

cameraNames=''

# Loop all command line arguments and try to find "cameras=east" or similar
for arg in sys.argv:
    words=arg.split('=')
    if ( words[0] == 'cameras'):