Render taking way too long.

Hi, so I have been using blender for about two months now and have done a few small projects, but I decided to try something alittle bigger. I took a simple spaceship that I had modeled during a tutorial and added some burner effects to it, as well as an animation of it shooting and blowing up an asteroid. I added a quick explode and a quick smoke modifier to the asteroid to make it blow up. I’ve never really worked with these effects before, so I’m unsure how they effect render times.
The part of the animation with the spaceship renders relatively quickly, however any frame with the asteroid in it takes AT LEAST two hours to render, and doesn’t seem to have the material I added to it ( a simple brown diffuse). I’m unsure if the render times are because of the added effects, or if I messed up something with my project. I’ve gone through and turned down any of the quality settings that I thought I could afford to so that I could render faster. I’m using cycles render, but I don’t have a GPU that supports GPU rendering. I was wondering if someone could take a look at my .blend file and see if I’ve done something wrong, or if it’s just my computer.
Here’s a link to the .blend file

http://www.pasteall.org/blend/41959

Thank you so much!!!

Here’s my render:

as you see, about 33 seconds. Maybe it’s the missing texture (HDRI?)

Attachments

It’s actually only the frames with the asteroid in them, frame 166 and up, all the ones with the spaceship render just fine. I was using an HDRI, but I changed it to a more simple .jpg because I thought that might be slowing it down. Here’s the background environment texture I used. I do’nt really think that it’s the background image though, because I have it in every frame, not just the ones that are lagging so badly.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bzo-FuoAC3isdG90UnZmcGhuMlk/view?usp=sharing