Render Test Error - Blender 2.5 HDRI

Hi There, my first post! I have been animating for over 10 years now, initially started on Lightwave version 4.0 years ago then switched to Maya 4.0 also years ago. I have been keeping an eye on Blender’s development over the years and started playing around with it at version 2.48. I am now testing out version 2.5 and I must say that I am really really liking it!

Thank you so much to all the people developing Blender it is really shaping up as a true Maya contender! So much so that I want to switch completely over to Blender from Maya. I still use Maya heavily in production from day to day but I am trying to learn Blender and bring it in to my workflow.

Ok, the reason for my post! I am doing some HDRI render tests and I am getting unusual artifacts and glitches in my renders. (I will try to attach an image to this post). I know this could be a result of the render engine not being fully sorted yet, but if someone could shed some light on this I would be greatly appreciated! (Look for the black spots)

Cheers,
Paul

Attachments

maybe you can attach your .blend file?
Those black spots look round, not square like what you see with flipped normals and doubled vertices.
Maybe someone else knows.

No, those are square. I don’t know what causes them, but they are artifacts. Do they only show when using HDRI backgrounds, and how is the .hdr set up?

Can you upload the .blend file ?
I think we can see where the problem lies if we try to render it using Blender 2.49b. Default settings may be different (Like specular and intensity) but the black dots may disappear. And you have to do is comparing the settings between the two versions :wink:

Hi Guys, thanks very much for the replies!

I have attached the .blend file.

RE: “Do they only show when using HDRI backgrounds, and how is the .hdr set up”