Rendering a Bump Map

Greetings,

I have read the tutorial for the nor map and it works great for what it does. What I really need is to render my image into a bump map. Is there a way to render the elevations of an item?

I would imagine that the camera would need to be looking down onto the object and be centered but as a novice I have know knowledge as to how to proceed from there.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jason Pryor

Its hard to tell what you are talking about. Blender 2.42a has 3 methods:

1. nor (uses a greyscale image, same as a bumpmap)
  2. displacement (moves the actual geometry)
  3. normal map set in the texture buttons and uses a rgb image to calc normal vectors (usage is somewhat limited in 2.42a – cvs has tangent space mormal maps).

Which are you trying to render??

GreyBeard

Thanks GreyBeard, good question.

I have a complex 3D model. I put the model were I wanted it, put the camera centered to the model facing down, z axis.

Now as for the texture and all that jazz. I dont need anything that edits my geometry. I want as a result, a grey scale image that has the highest z axis value white and the lowest z axis value black.

Jason

I have used bryce to render this image and set it for distance render. I just dont like the results and was hopeing that Blender give me better results. This program looks like it has all the bells and wistles, I just cant find the switches to do this.

J

I think I know what you want. A hight map I will make a .blend for you
give me a few minuets I will upload it.

some adjustments that change the output
lamp distance setting
material emit
render resolution and format
note the camera is ortho the material has almost no spec or hard if you tweek the lamp and material setting you can get a map representing the steepness of the terrain. I can upload a .blend like that if you cant get it worked out.
http://www.bestsharing.com/files/ms001125071/hightmap.blend.html