Rendering farms, where do I start?

I’m not really sure if this belongs in #general-forums:blender-and-cg-discussions or #support:technical-support support, apologies if this is the wrong section!

Hello, I’m a student and freelancer of sorts (Not currently going to college, and not a hobbyist either if that makes sense) that is learning about 3D graphics for games and short CG animations. I got a bit more to go in both education and experience before I’ll need to consistently use rendering farms to meet deadlines, however it is a bit of a nuisance for me when I am only able to render out my scenes over the weekend when I would much rather be playing games with my family or working on other projects but am unable to due to the scene I’m rendering taxing my computer. I’m fine with this is as its only a minor nuisance for now, however I can see this being a foreseeable problem in the near future for more commercial work if I’m spending most of my time rendering scenes rather then making scenes for other clients.

Now I admit I really don’t know much about rendering farms other then you give a service the file, they render is and return an image file or video file… However I don’t really know much past that, so I figured I’ll ask here:

Where do I start with rendering farms? What should I know about them? How would I know how “long” a scene would take to render?

it really depends on what you pay for, and it’s hard to gauge because it depends on the size of the farm and wether its processor based or CPU based or both. What takes your machine 20 hours to render might take a farm 2 minutes.