request for a sample python script for Blender

Hi everyone, im new to Blender as well as python, we used to design from other softwares but now we will try Blender.

We are currently designing a map and we would like to request a short script that will zoom the view. either i will try to put this on mouse or code it on zoom buttons in the GUI.

Please share us your extra knowledge as we are not familiar with python yet. we are currently reading manuals,

Its just that we would like to test something before we proceed.

thanks and more power to blender and python

btw. here is 1 of our artworks page.
www.reynante.deviantart.com

Hi. I would like to help, but I am not sure what you are asking for. Do you want this to work in normal blender, or in the game engine.

In normal blender you can put menus on the GUI, here is a good example http://uselessdreamer.byethost32.com/hotspots_intro.html

Or you can capture mouse and keyboard input events and perform functions. here’s an example: http://www.blender.org/modules/documentation/242PythonDoc/Window-module.html#QRead

In game engine mode you can do most of this (zoom on pictures etc) without programming.

in a normal mode Blender script, to change the lens value (which could be zoom) you could type:

import Blender
Blender.Camera.Get(“Camera”).setLens(100)
Blender.Window.Redraw()

oh thanks, so we do not need to program it already cause there are built in already? i think were using normal blender (not sure game engine mode or normal - idea pls).

so there are functions already in Blender that will allow a certain button to activate closer look?

To change the camera zoom,
select the camera - press 0 on numeric keypad,
make the camera active (right click on the solid line border - the edges of the camera - in the 3d view)
press F9 to go to edit mode buttons
change the lens value with left/right buttons or type new value in.