Requesting suggestions on how to model energy and flows

I’m new to blender however I’ve done a number of animations with just ray traced frames. I’ve just finished an animation for a professor friend as an intro to the concepts in one of his classes. At one point he wanted a model of static electricity moving along the surface of sphere. I wrote a python program to generate a couple million tiny spheres which were then plotted along the curve of the sphere. This looked ok but I’m not happy with it (it looks like what it is). I’ve played with particles in blender however all I can seem to create is a smoke effect which tends to react to wind and gravity (static charge does not behave that way). Can anyone suggest another approach that could be taken?

A perhaps related question is my friend has asked for an animation of a hubble telescope image of a black hole (including the movement of the gases int o it). If I could get particles to strictly move around an object, and not interact with wind and gravity, I think I could do this with blender.

Any recommendations/suggestions/pointers appreaciated.

Thanks,
WIlliam.

Check what Ammusionist did here:

https://blenderartists.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=56972

%<

Thanks for the suggestion Fligh%. I had searched and looked at that post, even downloaded and played with it. It doesn’t quite achieve the effect we’re looking for, or perhaps I’m dense (btw, I’m a programmer, not an artist, my materials tend to all look like variations on pastel colors).