Retopology - Optimization

The topology of this model is not good. How can it be optimised? I’m not good at head retopologizing. So pls take a look

Reaper2.blend (7.61 MB)

I think you are actually doing a pretty good job. The head mesh may be a little too dense. Some things to consider:

1. Uncheck ‘x mirror’ in the mesh options.
  2. Add a mirror modifier, ‘with clipping’
  3. Turn on surface snapping (the magnet see arrow in image)
  4. focus on square squads, not rectangles, smooth edge flow.

This is your scene, with the above changes and an idea for edge flow on the head. Good luck.

Blend on dropbox

This is an idea to think about for the face shield. Instead of a pinching the edges into a uv sphere pole in the center, you redirect using 2 tri poles (green) like a poly sphere. Basically you change the flow from circular to a square shape.

Cool!! Thankss. But one thing: how do you come up with these good topologies? I’ve put my mind into figure out the fittest topology but still…

1. Practice
  2. Looking at other’s work of good topology
  3. Practice

When you look at a high poly sculpt, try and visualize, (or even draw in photoshop) the major edge flows. Cylindrical parts (Arms / legs) it will be pretty obvious. loops flowing with and perpendicular to the cylinder. As for human/animal faces there is known good topology (loops around eyes, mouth …) on something like this, try and sketch out you major edge flows and model them first, as low poly as possible, and then you figure out how to redirect the flows to meet up in an all quad mesh. This means finding your poles, the general rule is to use 5-poles and tri-poles and avoid 5+ poles and n-gons. By doing the flows low poly at first you give your the option later to add loop cuts in order to make the vert counts match up.

Here are your major edge flows sketched out.

And did I mention practice? You’re doing a really good job, just keep going.