Rigged character for 3D printing

Hi, I am very new to rigging but am looking to create a character and 3D print it in several positions. My previous experience has been high poly modelling for printing, so I have no experience with texturing or rigging. I am wondering if there is a way to create my character using the multi resolution modifier, covert that to a texture to keep the poly low during rigging and then re-apply that texture to the high poly models in their final positions?

Is there a better way to do this? Or is my only option to rig a high poly model and hope my graphics card can manage the load?

1 Like

I don’t have a lot of experience with multi-res, but yeah-- that’s what it’s for. I don’t think you need to convert to a texture or anything. You use one level of multires for posing, then you crank it up and use the other level to print. A quick test shows that you can even manually weight paint at one level, and it propagates to the next. (Which might not be a great thing, I don’t know.)

If you want, you can bake the displacement to a texture, and you can recover it from a texture. But then you need to UV unwrap, which is otherwise totally unnecessary for printing, and you don’t need a displacement map to do what you want anyways.

I still think it’d be better to make a rigged low-poly and use that to mesh deform your high-poly. Mostly because you end up with a different sort of sculpt when using multires than when using dynotopo; you have to actually worry about topo a little bit. But if you like multires, sure, go wild.

Hey, thanks for the response! When you say ‘ake a rigged low-poly and use that to mesh deform your high-poly’, how do I go about doing this?

Make a low-poly is basically “retopo.” Look up “blender retopo tutorial.”