Right of Passage: Exploring the effect of cars on birds

Greetings everybody. This morning I was driving along and saw a bird fly away as my car came toward it. I started to wonder, as I continued driving, how many times a day that must happen to birds, how they have evolved in a way just to avoid humans and our cars.

This image will depict a bird encountering a car head on for the first time in its life. The bird has to make a split-second decision to avoid the car. Can he do it?

I’ve never tried something comical before, and this will be a new direction for my work. I think it will be much fun. I’ve never modeled a decent looking car or a bird before either, so bear with me. I love any advice you all can give me.

About the concept: I’m not a wonderful painter, but this helps with the colors. I sketched it with pencil and colored it in Photoshop.

Cheers and God bless.

nice! :slight_smile:

http://wikipainting.free.fr/mediawiki-1.6.5/index.php?title=Main_Page

!! :yes:

That’s very interesting, ememesee, but I’m not sure how it pertains to this artwork. Are you suggesting that I put this on Wikipainting? I’m trying to learn how to paint, but it is time consuming. (It will have huge payoffs, though)

As far as progress goes, I’m in the stage of collecting reference images. I can photograph my own asphalt textures, or even paint them, but I’m not sure how I will texture the bird. I’m concerned the reference photos will be too low res to actually use, so I’ll probably just reference them and paint by hand. Stay tuned.

Cheers and God bless.

I’ve been modeling the bird, which I decided was a cardinal. I know next nothing about organic modeling, topology, edgeloops, any of that stuff, so advice and constructive criticism from you more experienced modelers would be great.