Ripped paper with transparent alpha texture?

I’m trying to rip a piece of paper in half. I used subdivisions and fractals to get the paper to look torn, but now I need to give the edges that kind of feathery feel to them. I looked around and thought that an alpha texture might work best based on how I’ve seen them used, but I have no experience with them and can’t find a good tutorial. Texturing is definitely my weakest area, and if I’m just completely off, let me know. I’d really like some help with this one, and any would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

No one? Are there any basic tutorials you could point me t and I might be able to figure it out from there?

well, do you understand UV textures and texture painting?

If you do, then you use an image editor to paint the feathery areas black, leaving the rest of theimage white. when you assign the texture, to UV, you have to find an option called “calculate alpha” and in the influence, check the influence to alpha, mode to multiply. In the material tab, enable transparency. if the object will cast shadows, on whatever object it will cast to, the objects material must have “recieve transparent” checked.

I have a vague understanding of UVs, but I’ve needed to force myself to learn them better anyway, so this seems like a pretty good opportunity. When I turn on transparency, are there any specific settings I need to have?

Also, thanks for responding.

So I tried it out and did what you said, but i didn’t have good results. Here’s the .blend and maybe you can tell me what I’m doing wrong.

Attachments

Ripped Test.blend (582 KB)

here you go…

Attachments

Ripped Test.blend (546 KB)