Road to rep-rap modeling

Hello,

Well i decided to go for a mendel rep-rap, out of a creationist hobby or as in second life I’m a builder, and in real an artist.
Now it appears to me that a few people did this before, use blender for creating 3d objects.

As I would like to get also into this and learn a bit from it, before i assemble the 3d printer.
I have some question for those who are into it.

• What is the road of format conversions to a final format so that a mendl printer can print it ?
    What software did you use besides blender.
  • How do you deal with metrics (so 10 cm in blender is exact 10 cm in your final product)
    In general how do you change or set seizes of lines so that
    after you made something can correct something to a certain distance in blender ?
  • How do you strengthen, or optimize shapes so final products become less fragile

I also wonder since I’ve seen how blender can interact with video (one of the new features) if maybe in the near future blender will be able to scan objects for 3d usage, i think the math involved in that video scanning is a great starting point for such. As it does already recognize 3d info from a 2d camera movie.

As I know none of 3d packages handle STL export and G-code well. Most guys in Polish reprap community prefer Netfabb for STL optimization.

1. Reprap software uses models in the stl format. Blender has an exporter for that format, so no problem. Then you’ll have to use a “slicer” to, well, “slice” the model into layers and generate gcode for the host software that sends the commands to your machine. Common slicers are Slic3r (easy to use) and skeinforge (tougher learning curve, more accurate, but slower). There are others (Kisslicer, Cura, etc)
  2. 1 Blender unit = 1mm.