Roland Hess book on Amazon for 2.5

Hi, I was looking at the new Roland Hess book on Blender for the upcoming version.

On the cover is says 2.6

Does blender use odd numbers for development and even for release or something like that?

Just curious why it says 2.6 on the cover and 2.5 in the book description…

Thanks,
JM

I am not a developer, but if I understand correctly, 2.5 refers to the development versions during the major rewrite of Blender’s internals (ie, 2.5alpha, 2.5a2, soon to be 2.5beta), and 2.6 will be the version number for the “official” release of the new codebase. This has been the subject of much discussion on the mailing list and may have changed, but that’s my understanding.

I figured it was something like that.

Lots of projects follow a similar numbering scheme.

Thanks,
JM

I don’t know how I should think about Blender books since the software evolves so fast.

I feel video material online is much more accurate.

This is a pity since I enjoy designing books.

@cekuhen my problem or issuse with video tutorials is that in 3hours someone will probably cover what I good book will in 40 pages. Nothing tramps the density of information that you can pack in a book. People also have a terrilble tendency to go off on irrelevant tangents on video something a good book editor would probably axe.

But it is a real pity that indeed the do get outdated quickly but than again so do the professionally done DVDs. Quiet a few of the ones in the Blender e-shop are out of date

Well,

I understand what you you mean. just video recording is not the same as making a good video tutorial.
But I also read quite many books which were written in a bad way, with visually not really impressive
examples, and a shallow depth.

An interactive book would be the best, you can update it, but having a hard copy is really nice when you
take it to somewhere to read.

I think there’s room for both well written books and good video tutorials

yep