Rose (first organic model)

A project I started yesterday, but has come along much faster than I guessed it would.
This is a little experiment in the way of making organics, I have never done any plant or animal before, and so am trying it.

I am currently working on the material for the rose (any tips?), then I will work on adding an outdoor area.

Any C&C is welcome, you can be quite harsh if you want.

If its a rose you are modeling - I would say focus more on the rose, not the window. :slight_smile:

I echo the above. Try focusing on the rose, at least to begin with. Focusing on small objects teaches you a lot about details. Besides, we need a closer look at your rose in order to properly critique it. From what I see, the stalk looks a little too thin in comparison to the head of the rose.

I recommend you scourge Google images for reference photos. These reference images will aid you in making materials and textures as well.

Keep it up! :slight_smile:
//Mathias

Right, here’s the rose by itself.

and a clay render:

Thanks for the closeups. You have a good starting point, but you should try raising the bar and focusing a bit more on details.

Lighting wise the colored image is way too flat to make out any details. Try using more ao like in the clay render and maybe repositioning your main light behind the camera to achieve better shadows.

Based on images I looked at, especially these below (which resemble your rose quite closely), I’d say you need to subdivide your flower leaves to make them bend a bit downward at the top as well as add a bit of irregular bumps along the edge. It’ll take some more time because you’ll have to reposition more vertices, but it’ll be worth it. You might be able to model a single detailed leaf and get away with duplicating it and making a few changes to each dupli afterwards to avoid repetition.

http://wallpaperstock.net/rose-flower_wallpapers_8255_1440x900_1.html