Rotlopes (for Klopes)

Hi Klopes

I just tried your rotlopes python script, and I can’t get it to work.

I keep getting the error:

Processing object RuedA
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “Rotlopes20G.py”, line 84, in ?
AttributeError: Unknown object specified.

I believe I have followed the instructions properly:
Added loc ipo curves for the object,
renamed the object ‘RuedA’
set the rotation axis (EJE)
entered the python script name in the right hand side of the script window, with the ‘framechanged’ mode.

What am I missing?

<Update>

I managed to get it working.
Very cool script Klopes :slight_smile:

I am using a September 24 build of Tuhopuu2 (also tried it in 2.28a), and for some reason, I had to manually add and name the Empty ‘.Buff.RuedA’ before it would work. I’m no Python expert, but it seems like your Python script has some code to automatically do this.

Here’s what I did, in case I’m messing up somewhere:

[>] Name the default plane ‘RuedA’
[>] Insert a location ipo, advance to frame 21, move the plane, inset another location ipo,
[>] Add an Empty and name it ‘.Buff.RuedA’,
[>] load the rotlopes python script and enter it’s name in the script window in the right hand side of the window,
[>] Change the axis rotation to ‘Z’ (line 52, EPE=Z)
Advance the frame number.

When I return the frame number to 1, the plane isn’t rotated back to it’s initial orientation. Is there a way to correct or prevent this?

Also, would it be possible to have a fast rotation, even when the object doesn’t move -> ie. when an automobile spins it’s tire at the start or perhaps gets stuck in mud?

Finally, I notice in your example blend file the circle “spins out” going up the ‘incline’, and falls back down; was this intentional or some other reason for it?

</Update>

I’m no Python expert, but it seems like your Python script has some code to automatically do this.
Right. It must be done :-? I’ll try to update.