Rounding Text Heavily

Sorry for asking such a simple question, but I’m a newbie and I’m getting frustrated trying to do something I would consider rather simple.

I want to make some text look very goopy, almost like a liquid - having the edges of the text be rounded a lot. Using just the regular bevel on some extruded text doesn’t look goopy enough. I found, by searching, a tutorial here:

That references converting the text to a mesh using ALT-C, then removing duplicate verticies (w, remove doubles), and then running a filter called limited dissolve (space, then type limited disolve)…

It really cleans up the font just fine.

But I can’t figure out from here how I can get the edges rounded more.

Do I have to go in and bevel every edge or face by hand to get the desired effect?

you can give it a bevel with the curve buttons while it’s still a curve.

Sorry, there’s no button “Make my text awesome”. :wink:

First, a tip: “Limited Dissolve” as well as all the Dissolve functions is now located with all the Delete functions. Just press [X]!

The tutorial is a bit old… But it goes in the direction of what you want to do: Convert to mesh, remove doubles, limited dissolve.

At this point, with a more recent version of Blender, you’ll get big Ngons in the front and back of the letters. Select them all (in Face mode) and press [I] to inset. This will give you a nice ring of quads all around the Ngons. Now, you can set the whole text to Smooth and add a SubSurf modifier.

Cut the big NGons into smaller faces and tighten your mesh around the sharper corners. Use [J] to join 2 vertices across a face or the knife [K] followed by [Z] to cut across the whole mesh. (Adding edge loops doesn’t work well will the Ngons.)

The Bevel tool now also works so much better… Use it to cut the edges. Use the mousewheel to have at least 2 segments or else you might get a lot of nasty triangles.

You can even use the Smooth tool to make the letters rounder.