Hello, When close Blender by File->Quit it ask “Quit Blender?”, when close by [X] it just close Blender window, without asking about changes. I save my work regularly, but I think Blender should ask “save changes?” on exit.
Have you got enabled the ‘Promp Quit’ option in the User Preferences ?
inbox for me. i can help you