Saving a property into an external textfile? PROBLEM!

I need a highscore-system for my game (Space Invaders…).
I used the basic idea used in this file:
http://www.blendpolis.de/download/file.php?id=58119
(pressing Q and 1 will save the property, pressing W and 2 will load the property [the prop in the game can be changed with spacebar]).
The script creates a .bgeconf textfile [relativ to the .blend] which SHOULD hold the highscore.

It works pretty fine, the problem though is, that the textfile that this script creates actually doesn’t save the property. It always saves “0”.

In conclusion: as long as you don’t quit Blender, the script works just fine (for whatever reason…?).
But as soon as you quit Blender and reopen it the highscore is lost - and THIS shouldnt happen!

I’m not very good in describing problem, it would be nice if you would make yourself a picture of this problem…
Please note: I’ve got no Python knowledge. Therefore I’m already overwhelmed by these very few lines of script.

Thanks in advance!

Your file works as it should.
Why do you think it saves zero?

when loading the property is set to 3. Wich is not that obvious unless you change it before you start the BGE again.

• Not really.
    “3” is the default value.
    It can be changed with the spacebar.
    Then you can save the changed value with Q and 1.
    Then you quit and reopen Blender (and the blendfile).
    Now press W and 2 and it SHOULD load the modified property value - which it doesnt because the external saved textfile is all messed up.

I hope you guys now know what I mean…

I tested with BGE 2.57b and it works
1Q: 3
Space: 4
Space:5
Space:6
W2: 3

The most important step is that you quit Blender after pressing 1Q.

Try something like this:

Space: 4
Space: 5
Space: 6
1Q: 6 (saving process)
Quit Blender
Open Blender (same file)
W2: 3 (loading process) <-- WRONG, it should be 6, not 3.

The textfile is called ???.bgeconf btw…