Scale for Blender

dont know if this is the right post area, i apologize if its not
I had read here somwhere a while back that blender was scaless. i have found that this is not true. if you zoom completely in to the smallest square in the grid, this one square is one square inch. here is my proof: i am an architectural designer and work with autoCAD all day long. autoCAD draws in real parameters (meaning if i draw a line 12 feet in the program and print i would get a 12 foot line, you need a big plotter for this). one day being bored at home i decided to draw one square foot in autoCAD. i then imported this in to 3dsmax at a scale of 1 to 1 so it would stay the original 1 square foot. i the exported this as a .obj file and imported it in to blender and arrived at 12 squares up and 12 squares across. therefore the smallest square in blender is equal to 1 square inch!

A standard UV-sphere has a diameter of 2 Blender units. Should I decide to make this sphere part of a molecule, these two units will equal 2 nanometers. If it’s to become a tennis ball, 2 units will become 2 inches. If I fancy making it a planet, it might be 0.002 lightyears.
I don’t think your theory holds any water.

Regards

(Arghh - this might have been a belated April Fool’s joke and I fell for it…)

The blender units can be used however you like, just as bartleby demonstrated. But they aren’t any specific unit of measurement and even if it were a specific unit of measurement it would’ve been meters or centimeters (seeing as they use the metric system in the Netherlands - where Blender originates).

trust me bartleby bottlebabby or whatever. i know what i am talking about. i do design for a living. buy CAD and try it for yourself just for your interest i may post a video showing the proof

I also use AutoCAD for a living and I’m very certain the size of the output plot to has to do with the plotter settings.