Scale-Related Rendering Glitch

Hello. I am pretty new to Blender, so I am sorry if I am wasting your time with a simple question. Unfortunately, I have tried everything I could think of and I am still having a strange performance issue when rendering my animation. My scene has a small, relatively detailed model, and a large, fairly simple background environment. If I render this scene as-is, it takes unusually long to render. If I remove either the model or the background, it renders almost instantly. Interestingly enough, it also renders quickly if I scale either part (the model or the background scenery) to be the relative size of the other. What is causing this problem? Is there a simple way to make things work correctly? Thank you. :slight_smile:

Do you have AAO anabled and are you using raytracing?
AAO is not multithreaded and can only use one thread for the occlusion calculation this can cause great increase in render time especially in animations as it increases rendertime on a per frame basis.
Raytracing depends on the size of the scene and the reflections and increases render time as well. You can try to speed it up by playing with the octree resolution (Details: http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Manual/Rendering_Options#Octree_resolution )

For the AAO issue there is a workaround at least for animations (this is only theoretical as I have not found the time to actually test this):
You basically setup your blend file and make sure that you have Touch and No Overwrite activated then you save it.
Now you go and start blender as a commandline app and instruct it to render your blend
See http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Manual/Rendering_From_Command_Line for CL Interface.
Use the -t switch to limit the threads to one.
For each core you have start a blender application from the commandline using your saved blend.