Scaling dome to match diameter of circular mesh

Hello,

I started learning Blender yesterday, so please excuse my current state of less-than-blissful ignorance. I should note that I’m using version 2.57.

I’m trying to scale a dome (which was created by making a UV sphere and removing all the vertices below a horizontal line) so that it fits “properly” on top of a cylinder (i.e., without any gaps and scaled properly). Both the perimeter of the cylinder face and the bottom of the dome are circular and made up of an equal number of vertices but are of different diameters. I’ve been able to centre the dome on the face of the cylinder and make it flush using the snapping tools, but I can’t seem to scale it such that it fits on the end of the cylinder (i.e., such that the vertices of the face of the cylinder and the bottom circle of the dome are coincident).

I’ve tried using the scale tool with snap to closest vertex turned on, but this doesn’t accomplish the desired result: the dome is scaled, but the diameter of its bottom circle is still less than that of the cylinder face. I think I need some combination of a scale operation and a translation along the Z axis, but simply doing one after the other doesn’t work since the dome isn’t scaled to the desired size.

Any assistance would be appreciated - I’ve attached an image demonstrating the current state of my model (see below) and also my .blend file.

Attachments

dome_test.blend (393 KB)

i havent downloaded the blend but it appears that there is a vertex on the cylinder located at the center of your hemisphere; select that vertex, ctrl+s->to selected. then change your pivot point to “3D cursor” and scale.

or instead of selecting the vertex, you can loop select the bottom edge loop of your hemisphere, ctrl+s…

or you can select your hemisphere, then select that vertex, change your pivot point to “active element” and then scale.