Scanning beam??

Hello,

I am a beginner with Blender, however it’s a work situation, and I have been asked to model an eyeball and scanning rig. In particular I would be grateful for some pointers to tutorial, or suggestions, on how to go about creating a scanning beam rig as follows:
http://www.abdn.ac.uk/JMVP/images/eyescan.png
There’s also talk, if I am successful in animating it, to try linking it to the game engine interactively. Although I haven’t begun reading up on that as yet, however, if the construction methods lent themselves to that, it would be a bonus.

Thanks for any help.
:slight_smile:
John Montgomery, Glassel, Scotland.

Does this have to work interactively in Blender for your purposes? In other words, do you just need to make it work this way in a pre rendered video that you show in a presentation? Or do you need to be able to sit down with Blender and show people how this process works?

I don’t understand what your asking, do you want to know how to have the cylinder move around the pivot?
clarify and i’ll edit this to answer you.

Hi,

I’ve put together a quick .blend. Not sure if it will be of help but I think it’s what you’re after. It uses the shrinkwrap modifier. You won’t be able to use this particular technique with the game engine though.

Edit: Rotate the Empty called Pivot to see the effect of moving the red cylinder.

Attachments

eye.blend (287 KB)

I think what you need is to parent the cylinder to the eye, and then there you go.

EDIT: wait, you want a beam too? hmm, then maybe make a half transparent reshaped cube or plane. Sorry my description probably made you more confused…

Use radiosity and a pin-hole camera design. Pretty pricey cpu-wise, but probably your best bet.

Hello, and thanks everyone for your replies.

blazer003: It’s actually both, but pre-rendered is the “must have”.