Scared, but putting it out there

Eesh. I’ve done this before and it is harder than a root canal so I should know better, but this is where validity struts its ugly head.

I am making a website- emphasis on making; as in, not all there yet- and would love to see what you think.

I have very little experience in HTML, PHP, CSS and all the other obstacles you could encounter whilst invading the net, but I am trying my best.

The purpose of my website is to broadcast local writers/bands and artists and their work. The demographics are young- fetus young- for I am only 17 and so are my viewers.

So far I haven’t submited any bands or images because I want to do them all at once, but I have a few articles and one poem. And again, bare with me this website is just a few days old.

Thank you for time and consideration, I’d love to hear what you think :D. The link is the one on my signature: velvetseam.com.

-Thor

Pretty cool site. Interesting layout AND it doesn’t use excessive force (JavaScript/Flash, ugh).

I would recommend getting rid of the initial page with the Enter button. I never got the point of those.

For once I agree with Valar.
The site is impressive.
Clean and consistent design.
Didn’t get any errors on FF.
Can not test it on IE, I’m at work and don’t have IE here.
P

Rather nice. I’m not a fan of the layout, though the general design is good.

Problems with the layout are that you are left with only a small space for any content. I think you could utilise the left hand side more, and try and unify the background images.

I have very little experience in HTML, PHP, CSS and all the other obstacles you could encounter whilst invading the net, but I am trying my best.

You’ve done well. I think it can be improved upon, but you have a fully functional site with no major usability problems (haven’t used it long enough to talk about smaller things).

So, yeah, good work.

ian