Scifi Character with Upper Body armor

I’m currently working on a Scifi character anyways thought since I’m using blender I’d post it here, I’m relatively new to animation and modeling in general but I hope to become very skillful at both modeling and rigging, I’m going for technical aspects in animation anyways.

Everything was except the drawings was started today January 1, 2008 with blender, originally I tried using Maya 7 bout a month ago, but found blender seems more streamlined for modeling.

So thought I’d put up my progress for critique

Things i’ve already noticed with my model is perhaps the torso is too long so I may be shrinking that thing’s length down a bit. I drew out my own sketches for the character, a space marine commando character by the name of Colonel Jack Kell which I hope to do a lot with, (and remodel a few times till i get him perfect as necessary.

Things I will be modeling:
a Long ranged Special Ops Sniper Rifle, a side arms Laser pistol.
Armor, Baggy Military pants military boots and eventually a face that screams tough marine type A personality for the character.

I’m pleased with the armor and shoulder pads although I am sure I could improve on them for a first try at getting something like that I think it did pretty well.

Any advice on modeling the pelvic area for this guy area? it’d be very much appreciated thanks.

Attachments

Welcome man. I’m new myself so i’m not gonna be hard on ya. :stuck_out_tongue:
This looks like a good start to me. Keep us updated.