script to create many tubes at specific coordinates

Hi all,

I’m a Blender newbie and I need help getting started to create a simple script for a scientific display…

I need to create many thin lines (or tubes) that start and end as specific coordinates, and have a specific color. I have the start coordinates (x1,y1,z1) and stop coordinates (x2,y2,z2) for each line, as well as each line’s designated color (r,g,b) stored in a text file. So essentially, I need a simple script to call up these values, and generate the lines (tubes).

Something like the following…

Line (x1,y1,z1; x2,y2,z2; color r,g,b)

The problem is, I have no Python experience, so specific code would be appreciated. Thanks!
Dave

I have a script that I use to duplicate from an object library. In your case the object library would consist of one object: the tube :wink:

"""
Name: 'Test Script Name'
Blender: 237
Group: Object
"""
import Blender
import math
import string
import bpy

from Blender import *
from math import *
from string import *

f = file('filename')
scn = Blender.Scene.GetCurrent()

#read file
for line in f:
    ar = split(line, '|') # each line in the file has |-delimeted parameters (could be anything)

ob_act = Blender.Object.Get(ar[0]) # which object to duplicate, in your case this could be the tube directly

scn.objects.selected = []
        ob_act.sel = 1

Blender.Object.Duplicate() #Duplicate linked
        ob_act = Object.GetSelected()

ob_act.LoxX = float(ar[7].replace(",",".")) # here x is the 7th argument in the line and  have to replace the "," with the "."
        # change location, colour etc.

Blender.Redraw()

hope this helps to beginn with
chris
(also python noob)

Thanks Chris,

I’m afraid I need a little more hand-holding. How can I specify two points (p1 and p2) and get blender to construct a line (tube or cylinder) between those two points?