Scripting help: linear velocity/property variables

Hello everyone,

As most on this forum, I’m in process of making my own game and require some assistance form those more experienced than myself. As a quick synopsis, I’m making a sort of free-roam car game. At the moment it’s more for myself and own pleasure in making my own little world and models and being able to cruse around it, but I may eventually add in a sort of adventure storyline to it.

The nature of the help I need has to do with the programming aspect and editing scripts, which I have very little to no experience in. Though this may almost sound snobbish, I honestly don’t have the time on my hands to learn programming and scripting. So, I need some advice on exactly how to do a couple probably simple functions.

Here’s the blend file packed up, so you can tell what I’m going to attempt explain in the following:

http://www.mediafire.com/?bqt70qpcm2x2p

I tried putting in a linear velocity script, but I’m not sure if it’s the right one or if I’ve even set it up right. What I want it to do is simply take the speed of the car (OBLotus) and assign this numerical value to a property called Speed, on the Lotus.

from GameLogic import*
  scene = getCurrentScene()
  object_list = scene.objects

car = object_list["OBLotus"]
  car["Speed"] = car.getLinearVelocity()[1]+1

Any thoughts of what I’m doing wrong?

For the next part, I want to be able to add in a variable to a couple places on a pre-existing script. In a non-technical way, I want the wheels to not go to their maximum rotations immediately when the key is pressed; that is, if the key is pressed and held, then after say half a second the wheels would get to maximum turn. I’ve set up with logic bricks a property to define the steering, having values from -1 to 0 for turning left and from 0 to 1 for turning right. The following script is what I currently have, as the original script for the part with steering.