Scripting of Voxel data volume render

I need some help with a data visualization project. I’m new to Blender and am awed by the sophistication and quality possible with it. What I’d like to do is use Blender in my data viz project, so that it takes three data sets as point clouds, creates volumes for each, and renders them as three successively larger volumes with a transparent voxel data render, much like I’ve seen here:
http://www.blender.org/development/release-logs/blender-256-beta/volume-rendering/

I tried hacking through it myself using some good forum posts here as a guide. It seems doable, and fairly straightforward but I’m afraid i won’t have time to learn it. I’m looking for someone to take on the scripting portion, preferably Python, so that I can automate the import of the point data set, generate the Blender model, and export it as .obj

I’ll do the numbers to generate the point cloud, you do the scripting to automate it on a headless Linux server. I’m open to suggestions on the approach, this is just what I’ve come up with so far.

PM me if you’re interested. This is a paid job, and I’ll need to see your portfolio, and get an estimate from you on pricing and time to do this.

Thanks,
P

Well, I didn’t get much of a response. Maybe this isn’t the right forum. It looks like the best Blender forum out there. I’ll give it some more time to see if there’s interest. In the meantime, if you think this type of job should be on another forum, that feedback would be appreciated too.

Thanks

People might be confused about what you want. Is the job to take a point cloud from an existing file, generate a mesh representation, and then export this out to OBJ format?

Do I get it right, you need to make a solid mesh out of point cloud data.
Voxel -> Polygon?

Cube marching algorithm is your friend. Easy as pie. The density values of the 3d density function is replaced with predefined polygonal shapes, based on the current and adjacent density values.