Sculpting/Remesh/Hardware Question

This is kind of a broad and long question; sorry about that.

So I’m new to Blender and have been having a blast learning it. I really want to take it seriously and get better at it. I’ve been following tutorials and reading as much as I can. It’s a bit overwhelming.

My issue is I’m using a 2012 MacBook with 8gb ram (don’t have a GPU yet). Ram is soldered so I can’t upgrade. Obviously this is an issue when my sculpts get too detailed and the mesh is super dense. I’m working on a character sculpt now and I’ve only really done the head so far and my computer can’t handle it. I’ve tried remeshing in Blender (I’m about to try Instant Remesh), but my computer is just lagging so much to the point where its pretty much frozen. I know I need to get new equipment and that’s the second part of my question, but I thought I’d be able to at least sculpt complex characters with my MacBook even if I couldn’t rig and animate etc. Am I missing something? Any really good videos on remeshing?

Secondly, do you all have any suggestions for affordable equipment (laptop or desktop, gpu, ram, graphics tablet)? I’m currently furloughed and on a budget, but would like to invest in some decent equipment so I can progress. Like I said I’m trying to take this seriously. I’m at a point where I can’t even work on stuff, because my computer is so slow and it’s so frustrating, I don’t know what to do.

Lastly, any general advice for someone relatively new to 3D modeling? I’ve been following tutorials (Blender Guru, Grant Abbitt, and some of Blender’s official tutorials) Any other good resources or advice? Anything would be appreciated. I feel lost with all the information out there.

Also what do you all think the best work flow is for sculpting? Should I just do it in zBrush and import it into Blender. I’ve also heard you should sculpt, remesh, sculpt and repeat. Is this a good process.