Sculpting

I am attempting to learn how to better use the improved sculpting tools in Blender 2.6. I wanted to try to make a human head without any references to see what I could come up with. I started with a cube, subdivided twice, sculpted the base shape, and then added mutires modifier.

Here is what I’ve done so far.

Any suggestions/ideas are greatly appreciated.

-=ZanZ=-

looks like you ran low on polys around the mouth, that always happens to me too. i guess that is what the dynatopo branch is about.

You can sculpt a couple of levels of multres and then apply the modifier. Then add a new multires. You can get quite a bit further that way.

Actually I have quit a bit of mesh to work with. I just haven’t really done very much work around the mouth or eyes yet. Here is a little more definition. I realize I should be defining the form a little more at a lower level but I’m still learning.

Here is a little more work.

I think it’s coming along. I need to work on the forehead area more and also around the eyes.

One last update for today. He finally has opened his eyes. He looked like he was asleep.

Any comments/suggestions?

Here is some more refinement around the nose, mouth and eyes. Hinted at muscle structure on the neck. I gave him a bit more realistic looking eyes so it didn’t look so weird. Next things to add are the ears.

Basic ear in place. It still needs work.

The chin to mouth area looks kind of strange, like he has a differente bone structure. Still, going in the right direction I think

Ok, I’ve made a little progress. Any comments/suggestions?

This is looking much better. I love the startled expression. The lips are a little thin for my liking, but that could be what you’re going for. Will look forward to the next updates!

Looking good. Mind showing us the wires? (: