Seeking Blender/Gimp mentor in trade for SW engineering experience

TL;DR - Trade the occasional CG mentoring for SW mentoring and/or lightweight dev work. Nothing too time consuming on your part.

Me:

A software engineer with over 10 years industry experience. I’ve worked in a variety of fields including graphics development for both ATI and Intel. I have extensive experience with C/C++, Python and low-level graphics and network stacks for embedded systems.

I also had a few years of arts school training minus the CG business. Sadly, I haven’t picked up a sketch pad in the better part of a decade and so my technical skills are laughable.

What I’m looking for:

I’m seeking a mentor of sorts with experience using Blender and Gimp. No extensive time requirements or hands on tutoring. I’m simply looking for a friend to provide the occasional direction and feedback to keep me pointed in the right direction. The occasional email, suggestions for incremental design projects (i.e. “Try to create X,Y and Z because that’s the next step for you…”), and a little friendship / collaboration :slight_smile:

If you’re a professional artist and would like some dev help on your personal project I would be absolutely thrilled.

What you get:

A free software engineer. I don’t expect you’ll need a kernel debugged any time soon. But perhaps:

• You’re interested in programming and would like help getting started
  • You need help with CS classes and homework
  • You have a small to medium size project that could use a part-time dev
  • You’ve done a bit of programming but want to learn something useful beyond the “ivory tower”
  • You need a feature / bug fix (open source or personal projects only)

I can also help with light weight embedded design projects (Arduino, Galileo, FPGA design) if hardware is your thing.

What you don’t get:

• Someone who writes a lot of Java or web code (I can and have but it’s just not my thing baby)