selecter ring toggle in 2.5

Im wondering if it is possible to create a button in 2.5 that toggles on/off the selector ring (or a separate on and off button). Im sure it can be done by writing a pythong script, but Im just wondering if its possible to set up in the current 2.5 interface.

And yes I know that most Blenderheads will think Im making a mistake for wanting to do this. Im aware the selector ring is a powerful feature in Blender, but as Im just a beginner I find the selector ring annoying and want to delay having to deal with it till later

What is the selector ring? Im not sure I know what you mean.

that annoying ring that follows your every LMB click

I think you are referring to the 3D cursor. Yes it is possible to stop it from moving on every LMB click in 2.5.

Preferences > Input > View3D > view3d.cursor3d and change the keymapping.

My choice is Q Action Mouse. Now it only moves if I press Q and click.

I don’t think it is possible to hide it. You can move it out of the way. The more you use blender, the less annoying it becomes. I guess, the brain adapts.

I’d put it this way “The more you use Blender, the greater your respect will grow for the cleverness of this initially “annoying” tool.” - That is unless your mind is closed to alternative ways of interacting with 3d objects, and you decide that you can’t be bothered to learn something new.

But go ahead, turn it off… to each their own.

Hey, I am sorry to offend you but I was just responding to the OP who was bothered by this highly visible ‘object’ that could not be hidden or deleted in his scene in the 3d view.

I find the 3d cursor very useful myself.

arquebus, new objects that you add will appear at the location of the cursor. You will also find it useful for rotating and scaling objects relative to its position. The cursor can be snapped to other objects/vertices and objects/vertices can be snapped to it. So you can locate things relative to other objects in your scene with precision.